Posted on

Celebrating Life

Today is the first of many masses that is dedicated to my Nonna. She passed away on October 31st, 2011. Ever since then, life has been different. It seems like everything i do or see reminds me of her, and some days its hard to bear. But today the whole family will be at church celebrating the life she had, and the memories she made. There is nothing stronger than prayer, family and most of all love.

During this time I’ve found myself relying on my faith. I pray to make sure she is at peace, and that we can find strength to move on and keep her close to our hearts. I like being able to know that she is with me all the time, whether im aware of it or not. Faith keeps me going when I dont have any answers to whats going on around me. Faith is my foundation, my first step to take when i go back to reality. Faith is never gone, it will always remain a constant in my life.

My Nonna was the head of our family. She cooked giant Italian meals for the whole family. We saw each other so much because of my Nonna. She was the glue. After her passing, I was afraid that people would drift apart, but I can see that isnt so. My family has been so strong and so supportive of each other. Without one another, I dont see how we could have made it past this. But we did. We are having large family dinners, telling stories, laughing, and having a good glass of wine. Being in an Italian family, you learn that there is ALWAYS time for a glass of wine. 🙂

Many say strength comes in numbers, but i’d have to disagree. We lost a beloved family member, but we still remain strong, if not stronger. Strength comes because of love. My Nonna was proud of her family more than anything. She loved her children, her grandchildren and her great grandchildren. Watching them grow put a smile on her face. I can say i had the best Nonna in the world, and i know im right 😀 She lived a wonderful 83 years. She accomplished so much, and got to see so many things. She lived her life. Something i like to say, is that Italians dont eat to live, but they live to eat, to enjoy life. She did just that.

May she rest in peace with her beloved husband, who she hasnt seen in 30 years. Its been long over due, but finally they are together ❤

love you Nonna

Love your grandchild
jessie

Leave a comment